Day 65: Fort William – Cona Glen

Friday, 23/06/2017
Distance: 17,5 km (10,9 mi) for a total of 1815,2 km (1127,8 mi)

Ascent (ca.): 190 m (625 ft)

Weather: Cloudy, sunny spells, light wind and a few drops of rain, often all at the same time

I allowed myself a leisurely morning, having breakfast in a cafe, packing and posting the return parcel, and waiting for the time to go down to the jetty of the Camusnagaul ferry.

There I met three cyclists who were out for a long weekend round trip. They were extremely interested in my LEJOG experiences so far, even though they would do it by bike on the National Cycle Network. And there was another walker aiming at the Cape Wrath Trail. At Camusnagaul we all set off at different speeds so I didn’t know if I would see that walker ahead of me again.

The road along the north shore of Loch Linnhe wasn’t busy, but tarmac simply doesn’t make a good walking surface. Still on the road I bumped into the walker again as she was having a snack rest. We continued together for a while exchanging some experiences. Bridie is from New Zealand, working as a tour guide there in the summer season and using the winter for her own hiking tours up here.

We separated somewhat later when she wanted to make use of a sunny place for a longer rest whereas I was heading on into Cona Glen on a broad track. Despite the ground still being quite firm the glen itself was pleasant and I enjoyed the fine views in comparatively good weather.

By the time respectively distance into the glen I had set myself to look for a pitch I came across a herd of Highland cattle with calves. That was definitely not the neighbourhood I wanted. I walked further up the glen and found a nice pitch, elevated above the river, short grass and wonderfully level. Just when I had set up my tent and sorted everything for the evening the rain set in – perfect timing. But before I was able to enjoy the view from my tent which was really beautiful  🙂

Leave a Reply

