Day 17: Minehead – Flaxpool

Saturday, 06/05/2017
Distance: 33,6 km (20,9 mi) for a total of 425 km (264,1 mi)
Ascent (ca.): 955 m (3130 ft)

Weather: Overcast, light wind

When I opted for the breakfast in the youth hostel I already knew that this would make reaching the intended end for this day nearly impossible. It would have been a challenge if I’d been able to start from Dunster as my route table indicated. And the confusing variety of paths around the youth hostel didn’t help to make things easier as it took me some walking back and forth, map-studying and head-scratching to find the best way out of this muddle.

Finally, I got over Grabbist Hill to Dunster. What a lovely and picturesque little village! I strolled around a bit and enjoyed the views.

I have to come back to visit the castle and its surroundings. The cafe at the watermill seduced me to a cream tea which once and for all made clear that I would have to spend the night somewhere before the planned spot, but I left the final decision to a later time that day.

From Dunster I climbed up to Bat’s Castle, an iron age settlement. The would-be historian in me found this fascinating, of course. The further walking towards Williton was uneventful. I like the signposts very much which usually give the names of and distances to the next settlements. In doing so this one failed completely.

When I reached Bicknoller it was definitely time to decide for the place for the night. The table with the opening hours of the local pub promised it would be open all day on a Saturday which was an empty promise as it was obviously closed. I felt I was a bit short on water for a wild camp and any suitable spot would also have required significant ascent. So I decided to press on for a campsite at Flaxpool instead where I not only got a pitch and a hot shower, but also a can of beer from the site’s shop to accompany my meal.

3 thoughts on “Day 17: Minehead – Flaxpool

  1. Dunster is really a beautiful place, I was there 4 years ago during my holidays at the beach in a place called “Blue anchor” where the stream train to Minehead stops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

